Skip to content Skip to navigation

Advisory Board

CDEHA's Advisory Committee provides the academic leadership for the Center.  Members of the committee include nine senior, highly accomplished faculty from the academic domains of population studies, medicine (including geriatrics), demography, psychology and economics. Committee members are well-equipped to provide guidance on the relevance and scientific merit of research and policy affecting the elderly.


Laura Carstensen, Phd

Fairleigh S. Dickinson Jr. Professor in Public Policy, Professor of Psychology, Director, Stanford Center on Longevity

Marcus Feldman, PhD, M.Sc

Burnet C. and Mildred Finley Wohlford Professor of Biological Sciences AnD Director of the Morrison Institute for Population and Resource Studies

Mary K. Goldstein, MD, MS

Professor of Medicine and, by courtesy, of Health Research and Policy, Senior Investigator at the VA Palo Alto Health Care System

Steven Luby, MD

Senior Fellow - Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment; Sr. Fellow, Freeman Spogli Inst. for International Studies; Research Deputy Director for the Stanford Univ. Center for Innovation in Global Health; Prof. of Medicine, Infectious Diseases

Thomas Macurdy, PhD

Professor of Economics and Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution and THE Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research (SIEPR)

Kathryn McDonald, MM

Executive Director and Senior Scholar at the Center for Health Policy and the Center for Primary Care and Outcomes Research, Associate Director of the Stanford-UCSF Evidence-based Practice Center

Douglas Owens, MD, MS

Henry J. Kaiser, Jr. Professor; Director, CHP/PCOR; Professor of Medicine and, by courtesy, of Health Research and Policy, and of Management Science and Engineering; Senior Fellow, Freeman Spogli Institute; and Senior Investigator, VA Palo Alto Health Care System

John Shoven, PhD

The Trione Director of SIEPR, Charles R. Schwab Professor of Economics, Buzz and Barbara McCoy Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution

Randall Stafford, MD, PhD

Associate Professor of Medicine, Stanford Prevention Research Center; Stanford Health Policy Associate